E3 2013: I Met Some of the OnLive Staff


It’s been a month since my incredible experience at E3. I had planned to write a lot more about walking the show floor itself, and I might still. The excitement has definitely calmed down, but the memories are thankfully still in my brain. I was worried about that. I have a really bad memory for most things. But E3? Ha! I’d not only be surprised if I ever forgot that experience, I’d be mad if I did!

They Made Me Feel Like A Rock Star

I can’t tell you how excited I was to meet OnLiveNate. I was a little nervous, and I am shy, but it was okay because I was totally in my element. When I first went up to OnLives meeting room I wasn’t even sure I was allowed to go up there. But I wanted to make sure Nate knew I made it there okay. And of course I wanted to say a quick, “Hello”.

Nate was standing just inside the door as I walked up to it, so that was easy. As we shook hands Nate said, “It’s so nice to finally meet you”. I didn’t know how to react, but I’m pretty sure I said words. I might as well have been backstage with Guns n Roses, being treated like Axl Rose! These are the people that invited me to E3 in the first place. I was flabbergasted.

Me and OnLive Nate

Me and OnLiveNate

I wasn’t expecting to meet anybody else. After shaking Nate’s hand and saying “Hello”, I glanced around the room. Barely five feet away was Charlie Jablonski! CEO of OnLive! I squealed, “It’s Charlie!”, unintentionally interrupting Nate. I wanted to shout, but I knew there were other staff members in the office and I had no idea what kind of business they were up to. I did my best to stay as quiet as I could. Nate invited Charlie over to meet me, introducing me as “Germaximus” which I loved. Charlie perked up a little when he recognized my name and said, “It’s so nice to finally meet you”. I was thinking what the f*** is going on? Why are these people telling me this? I just wanted to scream and jump and ask them for their autographs. It was nice to meet me?

I was completely star-struck and had no idea what I was even supposed to do or say there, and it was just amazing. I wanted to give Charlie a hug, but he seemed shy, and I’m shy, so I just let it be. So I was quiet, and Charlie was quiet. I think that’s when Nate started talking about meeting up for lunch. It was a tiny bit awkward; I didn’t want to just talk with Nate while Charlie was standing there and it seemed like he didn’t know what to do either. I laughed a little inside. Charlie started to casually walk back to his chair and I quickly said, “Thank you, Charlie”. I wanted to tell him what an absolute pleasure it was to meet him but I was kind of frozen in I-can’t-believe-this-is-happening mode.

Throughout the day, I had made a few trips back to the meeting room. I met a couple of the cool guys I’ve spoken with before in customer support tickets, and a couple of really nice ladies that I had never spoken with before. They all knew me by “Germaximus” which I thought was awesome. They were all so nice. I wasn’t surprised though, as every single one of my encounters with the staff through support tickets has always been wonderful. Every single one of them said it was so nice to finally meet me. I could not believe it. Every single time. I didn’t know how to react to that. I still don’t know how I was supposed to react to that. I loved it, and I loved meeting them. And I still wish I had gotten autographs!

Finally, I met Gary Lauder. As if meeting Nate, the other awesome staff, and the CEO wasn’t enough, I got to meet the mother-effin’ Chairman. And what does he say? “It’s so nice to finally meet you.” WHAT?!?!?!?!?!? Can you believe that? I sure as heck couldn’t. And again, I’m pretty sure I said words. I got my picture taken with Nate and Gary. That was awesome. The only thing that could have made it any better would have been to meet Mr. Steve Perlman. That wasn’t going to happen though. Oh, well!

I had 2 photo's of us 3 that came out insanely blurry. My sister worked her magic on photoshop and believe me, she did an amazing job getting us visible. =)

I had 2 photo’s of us 3 that came out insanely blurry. My sister worked her magic on photoshop and believe me, she did an amazing job getting us visible. =)

It was such an amazing experience. Just being at E3 blew my mind. And I really, really, really loved the show floor. But the stars of the show for me were the OnLive Staff. I didn’t think this would happen again a month after the experience, but my eyes are wet with joy. I will never, ever be able to thank them enough.

Thanks so much for joining me in my experience. In case you haven’t followed the rest of my E3 experiences, I gave a couple links throughout this post to start ya off with. Please have a read if you want to know more about the incredible OnLive cloud-gaming platform.

2 comments on “E3 2013: I Met Some of the OnLive Staff

  1. Pingback: Cloud Gaming – OnLive And What’s So Awesome About It

  2. Pingback: The End of OnLive - Goodbye & Thank You

Please give me your feedback! I'll get back at ya soon.

